New Vegas. More Fallout

17 11 2010

Fallout: New Vegas has been out for a few weeks, and fighting my annoying sense of restraint I went out and bought it. I don’t buy many console games these days. Time is at a premium, and owning a dozen games I’ve never played past the halfway mark is starting to make me wonder why I still do it. Why I still consider myself a gamer, when clearly I don’t game that much any more.

All shook up, uh huh huh

Regardless, Fallout: NV is pretty cool. It’s more or less exactly like Fallout 3, and in my book that’s a good thing. Playing Fallout is like playing a sandbox MMO solo. And since I was spending most of my time in MMO’s – specifically WoW – solo, I figured why pay for a subscription each month? Fallout is the same thing – big open world, ‘dungeons’ in the form of vaults, fedex and K10R…only without other people around. This is both a good thing and a bad one. You can focus on exploring and levelling and looting and chasing some semblence of a story, but you do get a little lonely from time to time. The one thing about WoW was that when you tired of grinding stuff alone you could just queue up an instance or a battleground and grind with some friends or simply random people on the intertrons. It’s a simple concept, but it works. My money’s on future MMO’s perhaps simply having instanced outside areas for solo grinding, alongside instanced dungeons for group grinding, and simply a lobby for queuing up stuff. A quantum step backwards to Guild Wars 1 if you will, just with WoW’s ‘hop in anywhere’ Dungeon/BG-finder mechanic. Old is new again.

Anyway, back to New Vegas. It’s fun. Its’ sandboxy. I love that whole bullettime thing with the targeting body parts, it’s clever, works and remains enjoyable, giving a first-person game a real tactical feel. The really shocking part to me is that Obsidian are somehow behind it, not solely Bethesda. Obsidian actually made a good game. Crazy, right? Apparently the game suffers from bugs but I haven’t found any yet, then again I’m only a few hours in. There’s a patch coming for the consoles soon though, so that’s something.

In short, if you loved Fallout 3 and were left wanting oh so much more, get this game.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

